The Louisiana Energy and Power Authority (LEPA), created by the State Legislature in 1979, consists of 20 Louisiana cities and towns, each maintaining its own independent municipal power system.

LEPA is a joint-action agency working to provide its member communities with firm, stable sources of electricity at the lowest possible cost.

Since 1989, LEPA has entered into all-requirements power contracts with many of its members and has implemented a system operation through the use of a sophisticated, computerized Energy Control Center. Located in Lafayette, the Center dispatches electricity to all participating member cities simultaneously on the most cost-effective basis.

Through optional participation in the system operation, each LEPA member city can realize reduced power costs while maintaining its own municipal system. This type of joint-action arrangement among municipalities has proven to be the best approach for cities in Louisiana and other states.