LUS Director Jeffrey Stewart named Chairman of LEPA Board

January 31, 2024 

Director Jeffrey Stewart of the Lafayette Utilities System (“LUS”) has been named the Chairman of the Louisiana Energy and Power Authority (LEPA) Board of Directors for 2024. Stewart has been on the Board since 2016, and previously served as Secretary/Treasurer of the Board in 2022 and Vice Chairman in 2023.

“Jeff has been serving on the LEPA Board for more than 7 years and is always willing to share his experience and expertise with other LEPA municipalities.  Lafayette, our largest member, has always been an integral part of the LEPA organization and we are happy to have Jeff lead the Board this year”, said LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm.


PHOTO Jeffrey Stewart, Director of Lafayette Utilities System.

Mayor Chuck Robichaux, of the City of Rayne, was installed as Vice-Chairman for 2024. He was elected as Secretary/Treasurer in 2023 and has previously held all positions of office on the LEPA Board of Directors. Mayor Jason Willis, of the City of St. Martinville was elected as Secretary/Treasurer for 2024.  The remaining LEPA Operating Committee members for 2024 include Mayor Buz Craft of Vidalia and Mayor Karl Arceneaux of Welsh.

LEPA is a joint-action agency based in Lafayette and is made up of 19 member municipalities, each owning their own municipal electrical systems. LEPA members include Abbeville, Alexandria, Erath, Gueydan, Houma, Jonesville, Kaplan, Lafayette, Minden, Morgan City, Natchitoches, New Roads, Plaquemine, Rayne, St. Martinville, Vidalia, Vinton, Welsh and Winnfield.



January 26, 2024

The City of Abbeville and Town of Gueydan have both selected the Louisiana Energy and Power Authority (LEPA) as their wholesale electric provider.

The agreements were adopted by the Board of Aldermen of both municipalities in January, and by the LEPA Board of Directors at its meeting on January 18. LEPA is now the wholesale electric provider for 11 municipalities in Louisiana. The other nine LEPA Full Requirements members include Jonesville, Morgan City, New Roads, Plaquemine, Rayne, St. Martinville, Vidalia, Welsh, and Winnfield.

“We were able to show the officials of both Abbeville and Gueydan that LEPA provides very competitive power rates to its Full Requirements Members, along with a host of other benefits,” said LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm. “Not only will this new contract provide Abbeville and Gueydan with competitive rates, but because LEPA is a non-profit organization, it will also provide additional savings to the other nine LEPA Full Requirements Members through the sharing of fixed costs. This is evidence that LEPA is fulfilling its mission to provide member cities with firm, stable sources of electricity at the lowest possible cost.”

LEPA was created by the State Legislature in 1979 as the joint-action agency for the State of Louisiana. LEPA’s current membership is comprised of 19 cities and towns that own their electric distribution systems. Other Louisiana cities that are members of LEPA include Alexandria, Erath, Houma, Kaplan, Lafayette, Minden, Natchitoches, and Vinton.


Shown after execution of the Full Requirements agreement are, from left, LEPA Vice Chairman Mayor Chuck Robichaux of Rayne, Mayor Mike Kloesel of Kaplan, Mayor Taylor Mencacci of Erath, Mayor Roslyn White of Abbeville, LEPA Chairman and LUS Director Jeffrey Stewart, Mayor Jude Reese of Gueydan, LEPA General Manager Kevin Bihm, and LEPA Assistant General Manager David Bergeron.